The Student News Site of Loyola University Maryland

The Greyhound

The Greyhound

The Greyhound

Men’s soccer falls to Lafayette on penalty kicks, eliminated from Patriot League tournament


After playing 90 minutes and three overtime periods of scoreless soccer, the men’s soccer team fell to Lafayette in a heartbreaking penalty kick shootout in the Patriot League semifinal round on Tuesday. The Greyhounds’ 2019 campaign is over, as they finished with a record of 10-7-2. 

Loyola’s offense was active throughout the match, earning 19 shots and seven shots on goal, but they could not break through goalie Alex Sutton, who had seven saves. Brian Saramago ’20 had eight shots, while Justin Ingram ‘21 and Barry Sharifi ‘20 each had three to lead the Hounds.

Saramago concludes his Loyola career with 34 goals and 23 assists over four seasons of play, good for 14th and ninth in program history. He is joined by a highly successful senior class including Sharifi, Josh Fawole, Davey Mason, Nico Brown, Morgan Lussi, and Matt Dabrowski. The Class of 2020 went a remarkable 27-6-3 in Patriot League play over their four years, including three regular-season conference championships. 

Chase Vosvick ‘21 had two saves in his third shutout performance in a row. Both defenses refused to break through the first, second, and third overtime periods, so the teams turned to penalty kicks to decide the game.

Both teams made four penalty kicks in the first five rounds. Loyola’s sixth attempt hit off the crossbar, then Martin Ssessanga stepped forward for the Leopards and buried his attempt to give his team the victory.

Lafayette, now 9-6-5, will play at top-seeded Lehigh on Saturday for the Patriot League Championship. They will be playing for their first conference championship since 2012.

Despite the loss, this season was not without its rewards, as many Loyola players were recognized for their accomplishments on and off the field. Sharifi was chosen as Patriot League Midfielder of the Year for a third-straight year, and Daniel Osuji ’23 claimed conference Rookie of the Year honors. 

Sharifi, Saramago, and Fawole all made the Patriot League first team. Saramago is the first player in conference history to be named to the first team in all four seasons.

Mason, Ingram, and Vosvick made the conference’s second team, while Brown and Osuji made the third team. Additionally, Mason and Jacob Denison ’21 made the Patriot League’s all-academic team.

Featured Image Courtesy of Loyola Athletics.

View Comments (1)
More to Discover

Comments (1)

All The Greyhound Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • AnonymousNov 19, 2019 at 7:37 am


Activate Search
Men’s soccer falls to Lafayette on penalty kicks, eliminated from Patriot League tournament